More Information

Business Directory

Upcoming Deadlines

12.08MTI MTAF 2.0 Lightning Round


11.17Gardens Aglow
11.29Coastal Planning Workshop
12.02Harbor Lights Festival
12.07Wiscasset Holiday Marketplace
12.13LCRPC Board Meeting
12.17The Icy Elf 5K and Kid's Run

Current Projects

Lincoln County

The County was originally incorporated back in 1760 at the same time as Cumberland County, when Maine was still part of the Massachusetts Bay Colony. At that time, Lincoln County extended to the District of Maine's boundaries to the north and all the way east, quite a territory, about 90% of the state.

Today, about 34,730 people live in Lincoln County in the communities of Alna, Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Bremen, Bristol, Damariscotta, Dresden, Edgecomb, Hibberts Gore, Jefferson, Monhegan Plantation, Newcastle, Nobleboro, Somerville, Southport, South Bristol, Waldoboro, Westport Island, Whitefield, and Wiscasset.

Lincoln County (like all Maine counties) is governed by a Board of Commissioners who are elected for four year terms on a partisan basis, by district. Typically, the Chairmanship of the Board is rotated annually. The current Board is Lynn Gilley Orne, Chair; William B. Blodgett, and Sheridan Bond. The Board of Commissioners has adopted the statutory county administrator plan of government, and the current administrator is John O’Connell.

Originally established to provide certain court, jail and road functions, Maine’s counties have also carried out regional government functions. State law allows counties to partner with municipalities to perform functions that are mutually beneficial to both levels of government, and Lincoln County has taken the lead in doing this with our Emergency Management Agency, the Recycling & E-Waste Program, our County Planner, and the Economic Development Director. The last two programs are now part of the LCRPC.

To contact the Commissioners:

Lincoln County Commissioners
Lincoln County Courthouse
PO Box 249
Wiscasset, Maine 04578

207-882-4320 (fax)

Lincoln County website