Community Resilience Partnership

Community Resilience Partnership

Grants, access to funding, technical assistance, training, and more


The Community Resilience Partnership is a program from the Governor’s Office of Policy Innovation and the Future (GOPIF). The Partnership provides grant funding and direct support to municipal and tribal governments for climate mitigation and adaptation projects to help reduce emissions and prepare for the impacts of climate change.

How Does the Community Resilience Partnership Work?

To receive access to funding and support, communities must first enroll in the Partnership. All municipalities and federally recognized tribes in Maine are eligible to join.

Enrolling in the program involves:

  • - Completing a pair of community self-assessments
  • - Holding a workshop to discover your community’s climate resilience and clean energy priority actions
  • - Adopting a municipal resolution committing to these priority actions

Once a community is enrolled in the Partnership, they can apply for Community Action Grants for a wide variety of projects that reduce energy use and make them more resilient to climate change effects.

Communities who need help enrolling may choose to work with a "service provider". Service providers are organizations or businesses who apply for a Service Provider Grant to help 2-5 communities enroll in the Partnership and apply for Community Action Grants.

Learn More

The Community Resilience Partnership is supported by Regional Coordinators who assist communities located in their designated Region. Region 1 communities are those in York, Cumberland, Sagadahoc, Lincoln, and Knox counties and also include nine municipalities in southern Oxford county.

Download the Region 1 Community Resilience Partnership Fact Sheet
Community Resilience Partnership Website

General Inquiries:

Gabe McPhail Resilient Communities, L3C
(207) 952-1817
Pronouns: she/her/hers, they/them/theirs

Direct Support:

York County Communities
Karina Greater, Sustainability Coordinator, Southern Maine Planning and Development Commission (SMPDC)
(207) 571-7065
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Cumberland County Communities
Sara Mills-Knapp, Director of Sustainability, Greater Portland Council of Governments (GPCOG)
(207) 664-8414

Lincoln County Communities
Mary Ellen Barnes, Executive Director, Lincoln County Regional Planning Commission (LCRPC)
(207) 882-5983

Knox and Sagadahoc County Communities
Gabe McPhail, Resilient Communities, L3C
(207) 952-1817
Pronouns: she/her/hers, they/them/theirs

Other Regional Coordinators for Maine


Already enrolled or interested in enrolling? Go here!

297 Bath Road
Wiscasset, Maine 04578
T: (207) 882-4271 • F: (207) 882-5188